acnomad.blogg.se

How to use find a grave
How to use find a grave






The top of that same stone was so worn and dirty you couldn’t really tell that there was a name on it. There’s a gravestone right next to my great great grandfather’s grave. This is the stone of the Mary Ann Price, my great great great grandmother.Ĭover it in foil and rub and voila, the writing emerges.

how to use find a grave

I grabbed a sponge from under the sink and was ready headed to the cemetery the next day. So I went to the dollar store and bought some cheap aluminum foil. I didn’t have one so I dug around a bit more on the web and found this post on Save a Grave that suggested using a damp sponge.

how to use find a grave

The post linked above suggested using a clean makeup brush. That post described how you can cover a gravestone with foil and rub it to make the hidden words on a gravestone almost magically appear. I’d seen a link to a blog post called safe solutions for hard to read tombstones on the fabulous Organized Genealogist Facebook page. I wanted to capture some more photos of the gravestones, as well as find the graves of the Prices, which I hadn’t seen on my first visit.įortunately for me, I’d learned just the prior week about using aluminum foil to make reading hard-to-read gravestones much easier. Jeffries and Susan Price Jeffries his in-laws, John Price and Mary Puffenbarger Price and his grandparents, Richard Anderson Jeffries and Harriet McKinley Jeffries. Three generations of Jeffries are buried in that cemetery: my great grandfather, James Earl Jeffries his parents, John D. (This was a reunion of people from my grandfather’s side of the family, so it was an adjunct activity.) I had visited that cemetery, Meyer Cemetery, last year when I traveled to western Missouri. On Saturday, my husband and I paid a visit to the cemetery where my grandmother’s ancestors were buried. I was given family pictures (some of which I’ll probably scan and share here) and well as a painting that my grandmother had painted. Family members were so warm and welcoming to my husband and me despite the fact that my branch of the family had not been represented at that reunion in a couple of generations. My family reunion was last weekend and I had a great time.








How to use find a grave